ALDERWASLEY TO ALFRETON

A TO Z – DERBYSHIRE AND THE PEAK DISTRICT – CHAPTER 1
ALDERWASLEY (1.5 miles off the A6 at Whatstandwell, between Belper and Matlock – SK532533)

A small, scattered village with no real centre, situated high up in glorious countryside above the Derwent Valley. The village church stands in the grounds of Alderwasley Hall, in a delightful setting with a cedar tree serving as a guard, below which a sparkling stream runs, accompanied by little waterfalls and ornamental lakes. The Hurt family, wealthy industrialists, owned the hall for many years. It is now a specialist school. Shining Cliff Woods, a short distance away, is where Betty Kenny and her husband lived during the summers in the 17th Century, sheltered by a giant yew tree said to be 2,000 years old. According to legend, with a bough of the tree hollowed out to form a cradle for their children, which is likely the origin of the nursery rhyme ‘Rock-a-bye-baby.’
ALDWARK (1 mile west of Grangemill off the A5012 Cromford to Newhaven road – SK228574)
A tiny upland settlement with no more than a few cottages and farms, Aldwark lies just inside the Peak District. Situated at the head of the Griffe Grange Valley, it was once the base for monastic sheep farming. Green Low is only about half a mile north of Aldwark, the site of a Bronze Age tomb. A somewhat surprising development occurred in 2017 when an enterprising chemist and his helpers converted a milking parlour in the village into a microbrewery. The water filtered through boreholes in the limestone hills has produced a unique range of ‘AAA’ craft ales – Aldwark Artisan Ales.


ALFRETON (on the A61 Derby to Sheffield Road – SK414558)

Initially, a farming community, the area experienced significant population growth with the discovery of coal. At that time, most men of working age were miners until the industry went into decline and the last colliery in the area closed in March 1969. Apart from redundant miners, the closure of the British Steel Plant at nearby Riddings made matters worse. Strenuous efforts were made to attract other industries to the vicinity. Helped by a good road and rail transport network, the town is now thriving again.
The town has some attractive examples of 18th-century architecture, including the old George Hotel and Alfreton Hall, which add real character to a stroll along Church Street. Built circa 1724-25, Alfreton Hall was the home of George Morewood and the Palmer Morewood family, owners of many local coal mines. In 1963, the County Council acquired the estate, and it is now part of a splendid public park with swimming and sports facilities.

At the end of the main High Street shopping area, Alfreton House, built in the mid-1650s with its lawn and fine beech trees, attracts attention. Apart from housing various offices, it also hosts delightful tearooms. The former Town Hall and Post Office premises on the other side of the road are now occupied by shops.
Turnpike companies were legally required to provide milestones, which resulted in a local curiosity in the form of a cast-iron marker on the town crossroads with the notation ‘Alfreton 0 Miles’.
ALFRETON – WATCHORN MEMORIAL CHAPEL
Robert Watchorn was born in a small cottage in the town, the second son of a family of nine. His parents were poor, and at the age of 11, he began working in the pit. Despite working long hours, he still managed to attend night school, and at the age of 22, he decided to emigrate to the United States. He rapidly rose through the ranks, and upon his retirement in 1909, he was the Supervising Inspector General of Immigration for the United States.
In his retirement, he founded the Watchorn Oil and Gas Company of Oklahoma and became a very wealthy man. After losing his son in the First World War, he and his wife Alma gave most of their fortune away. Alfreton benefited by nearly £100,000, an enormous sum in those days. In 1927, the Watchorn Memorial Primitive Church was founded, followed by a school, a manse, and cottages, all in memory of his mother. In remembrance of his son, a sports ground and pavilion were given. He also had the Abraham Lincoln Library built, now a Masonic Hall.

ALFRETON – WAR MEMORIAL
A prominent feature at the top of King Street is the War Memorial, erected and dedicated in 1926. The initial sum of money collected for the erection of the Memorial, during the hard times of the 1920s, was modest. Hearing of the difficulties, Robert Watchorn contributed to the project’s funding.
ALFRETON – HOUSE OF CONFINEMENT
The House of Confinement stands by the roadside on King Street. It is an almost unique example of a parish lockup. Built around 1820, it features a stout oak, iron-studded door, small circular windows, and a stone slab roof. Along a passage are two cells, one for men and the other for women. After a short stay, the authorities moved more serious offenders to the County Gaol in Derby.


