MAM TOR TO MATLOCK BATH

A TO Z – DERBYSHIRE AND THE PEAK DISTRICT – CHAPTER 27
MAM TOR (overlooks Castleton and the Hope Valley from the south)
Mam Tor looks down on Castleton from the south. The locals often call it the ‘Shivering Mountain’ because its layers of soft shale between harder beds of gritstone frequently crumble, causing landslips. These have been sufficiently severe in the past to close the A625 permanently. It has now been rerouted through the Winnats Pass.
MAPLETON (2 miles northwest of Ashbourne – SK167480)

The village stands on the Derbyshire side of the River Dove that divides it from Staffordshire. Mapleton’s attractive red brick cottages are somewhat unusual in the Peak District, where stone typically dominates. Most of the houses face the river, on the other side of which is Okeover Hall, a private residence not open to the public. As with so many towns and villages in Derbyshire, there is a problem with either the pronunciation or the spelling. Should it be Mapleton or Mappleton? Unfortunately, there is a problem with both. Locals invariably pronounce the name according to the latter spelling. But the church notice board, many local guidebooks and the Ordnance Survey prefer the former. Whatever the spelling, this little village is a place not to be missed with its lovely walks and air of peace and tranquillity.
Mapleton’s only pub, the Okeover Arms, closed its doors in 2002 and was put on the market, but reopened again in time for Christmas 2003. It was not the only time it has been closed. As it temporarily lost its licence when the family of Ealdred Okeover thought he was spending too much time in the pub and used their influence to have it shut down. Nowadays, it is a popular venue for walkers needing refreshments and for other visitors looking for good food.
MAPPERLEY (off the A609 Stanley Common to Ilkeston Road – SK434431)
The former mining village of Mapperley, a short walk from the reservoir of the same name, dates back to before the Domesday Book. It was awarded a market charter in 1267, allowing it to hold a market and fair. In 1966, the church was mainly rebuilt following damage from mining subsidence. The village pub, the Old Black Horse, is a popular calling place for walkers and locals alike. It has a large beer garden at the rear and a warm open fire inside for cold weather.


MARSTON MONTGOMERY (3 miles north of Doveridge and the A50, to the west of the A515 – SK137379)
Tucked away to the northeast of Uttoxeter is the ancient village of Marston Montgomery. The village takes its name from the Montgomery family, who owned the lands of both Marston and Cubley. It has a delightful black and white timber-framed Manor House dated 1670. The Church of St Giles is said to have the oldest ecclesiastical masonry in Derbyshire. Refreshments and accommodation are provided at the Crown Inn. A recent development has been the conversion of a redundant village telephone box into an informal library, where books are available for borrowing.
MARSTON-ON-DOVE (9 miles southwest of Derby, off the old Derby to Uttoxeter road west of Hilton – SK235293)
Marston-on-Dove is a small village in South Derbyshire that was once owned by the monks at Tutbury Abbey. Following the Norman Conquest, it passed into the ownership of Henry de Ferrers. The Church of St Mary has the oldest bell in Derbyshire, which was cast in Leicester in 1366 and inscribed with the words ‘Hail Mary’ by John de Stafford.


MASSON MILL (on the A6 between Cromford and Matlock Bath – SK295573)
Sir Richard Arkwright’s impressive-looking Masson Mills stands at the northern entrance to the World Heritage Corridor. Established in 1783, the mills remained in constant use until 1991. Today, they are home to a working textile museum, where you can also enjoy fresh barista coffee, locally sourced cakes and a textile-themed gift shop.
MATLOCK BATH (2 miles south of Matlock, on the A6 Derby to Buxton Road – SK295581)

Nestling beneath limestone cliffs with the River Derwent flowing below, in a beautiful wooded valley, is the popular tourist centre of Matlock Bath. The town has been a visitor attraction since people came to bathe in the thermal waters. The scenery was likened to that of Switzerland, and, together with the thermal qualities of the water, contributed to the area’s appeal. Facilities began to improve, and the visits made by Queen Victoria in 1832 and 1844 further enhanced its reputation. An aquarium now occupies the site of the hydropathy unit.
The highlights of the year at Matlock Bath are the Illuminations and Venetian Nights. These usually start in early September and continue until the end of October. When the riverbanks, decorated by illuminated displays and the cliffs floodlit, offer a truly memorable experience. The high points of the Venetian Nights take place on Saturdays and Sundays, when decorated boats with coloured lights twinkling glide down the river – a magical experience enjoyed by people of all ages. On selected nights, cliff-top firework displays take place, attracting large numbers of visitors.

