SHELDON TO SNAKE PASS

Sheldon
Sheldon

A TO Z – DERBYSHIRE AND THE PEAK DISTRICT – CHAPTER 43

SHELDON (2 miles south of Ashford-in-the-Water, off the A5 Bakewell to Buxton Road – SK174688)

Sheldon is a lovely village perched high above the River Wye. It is situated three miles west of Bakewell off the A6, with the villages of Ashford-in-the-Water and Monyash only a short distance away. It has one street with a mixture of old houses and farms on both sides. Mature trees and attractive grass verges add to the charm of this conservation village. The village pub, the Cock and Pullet, was built in 1995 and is one of the Peak District’s newest public houses, named after the cockerels and pullets that used to run around in front of a barn where the pub is now situated.

SHELDON – MAGPIE MINE

Magpie Mine
Magpie Mine

Magpie Mine stands one-third of a mile south of the village of Sheldon, darkly silhouetted against the skyline. It is about 1,050 feet above sea level. Footpaths approach it both from Sheldon and the Monyash to Ashford-in-the-Water Road. Members of the public may visit it for external inspection at any reasonable time. The mine has a recorded history dating back to 1739, but it is said locally to be over 300 years old. Protracted troubles broke out in the 1820s and 1830s between the miners of Magpie, Maypitts and Red Soil mines. The dispute centred on a vein of lead, and at various times, the miners broke through into each other’s workings. Often, when this occurred, one side would light a fire underground and try to smoke the other out.

Tragically, in 1833, three Red Soil miners were suffocated to death by fire lit by the Magpie miners. Following a year in prison and a lengthy court case at Derby Assizes, five Magpie miners were acquitted of the charge of murder owing to conflicting evidence and the lack of intent. The three widows of the Red Soil miners are reputed to have put a curse on the mine, and a ghost was reportedly seen there in 1946.

Shipley Country Park
Shipley Country Park

SHIPLEY PARK (off the A608 Derby to Heanor road, south of Heanor Industrial Park – SK431453)

Shipley Country Park was developed during the 18th century as a country estate and coal mining area. It has been sympathetically restored by Derbyshire County Council and reopened in 1976 as a country park. Apart from walking, you can take a cycle ride, go fishing, spot wildlife, join a wayfaring course or sit and relax. The park has earned Green Flag Awards, a national standard for parks and green spaces, regularly. In 2011, it also achieved Country Park Accreditation from Natural England for its facilities and services. A visitor centre at the Heanor Gate Industrial Estate end of the park features a shop, café, and other visitor facilities. There is another car park on the opposite side of the park, approached through Mapperley village.

SHIREBROOK (on the B6407 in north east Derbyshire, near the Nottinghamshire border – SK533677)

A Roman settlement existed in the area, but Shirebrook remained sparsely populated until the 17th century, when the valleys of Pleasley Vale and the River Meden provided sites for textile mills and forges. The arrival of the coal industry in the area led to the establishment of pits at Shirebrook and other nearby villages. None now remains. The largest employer in the town is Mike Ashley’s Sports Direct, which is located near a busy railway station serving the Robin Hood Line.
The town has several well-known former residents, including the famous actor John Hurt. Although he was born in Chesterfield, he spent part of his childhood in Shirebrook when his father was the vicar of Holy Trinity Parish Church. Ray Wilson, who played for England when they won the Football World Cup in 1966, was born in the town. Actors Jason Statham and Colin Tarrant were also born in Shirebrook.

Robin Hood Line, Shirebrook
Robin Hood Line, Shirebrook
Saracen's Head, Shirley
Saracen's Head, Shirley

SHIRLEY (off the A52 between Brailsford and Ashbourne – SK219417)

Shirley, mentioned in the Domesday Book, is a charming village with a fine church and a historic inn. St Michael’s Church has undergone extensive restoration and has lost its original Norman shape. The Saracen’s Head takes its name from the crest on the arms of the Shirley family. The pub is over 200 years old and stands on the site of a previous inn. It has previously been named in the prestigious Michelin Guide. John Cowper Powys, one of England’s leading religious novelists, spent the early years of his life in the village, where his father was the vicar.

SMALLEY (6 miles northeast of Derby on the A608 to Heanor – SK407446)

Smisby Lockup
Smisby Lockup

The Richardson family helped to shape the history of Smalley after purchasing the Smalley Farm Estate. Their descendants prospered as the demand for coal increased and the seam beneath the estate was exploited. In the early 18th century, two of the Richardson brothers founded a Colliers’ Charity, which benefited both the local miners and endowed a free school for ‘twelve poor boys.’ The Parish Church of St. John the Baptist was built in the late 18th century on the site of an earlier church. The bell tower, built to house five bells, has recently been discovered to have the heaviest chime in the country. In the church porch, a 7th-century Saxon cross is located.

SMISBY (off the B5006 Ticknall to Ashby-de-la-Zouch Road, on the southern boundary of Derbyshire – SK349191)

Smisby is a small, attractive village situated on the Derbyshire and Leicestershire border, which also includes the hamlets of Annswell and Boundary. It features a 13th-century church, the remains of a medieval Manor House, and, more surprisingly, a village lock-up, as well as a village hall and two pubs, one located in the centre of the village. Sir Walter Scott used the area around the village as the base for his historical novel Ivanhoe. A nearby field is thought to be the site of the Tournament Field, mentioned by Sir Walter Scott in his book, where the knights from Ashby Castle held their jousts.

Former Pub Sign
Former Pub Sign

SNAKE PASS (on the A57 Sheffield Road, rises east of Glossop and descends to Ladybower)

The road running through the pass was initially called the Sheffield to Glossop Turnpike, but in 1818, an Act of Parliament was passed to build a new road. The Duke of Norfolk and the Duke of Devonshire financed it. One of the few buildings on the route is the Snake Pass Inn, which no longer serves as a public house. The pass is one of the first in the country to be closed after a snowfall.

In recent times, the road has been frequently closed due to landslides. Visitors are advised to check the position before using the road as long delays to journey times are possible as well as closures.

Smalley
Smalley
St James Church, Smisby
St James Church, Smisby